Happy Birthday Grover Cleveland – Great Quotes for Today

491738_thbOn March 18th 1837, Grover Cleveland was born – he was the 22nd and 24th President of the United States.  Given that he passed away in 1908, he and I never met … but if we did, I’m sure I would have liked him as a leader.

I say that based on reading a little about him … and I like many of his famous quotes. Here is a sample;

“Sometimes I wake at night in the White House and rub my eyes and wonder if it is not all a dream.”

My guess is if he is watching what’s going on in the White House now … he wouldn’t likely get any sleep.

“The lesson should be constantly enforced that though the people support the Government, Government should not support the people.”

I couldn’t agree more … I wish he was around to do something about it.

“In the scheme of our national government, the presidency is preeminently the people’s office.”

Wow – times sure have changed. The concept is still there but I don’t think the execution is.

“Officeholders are the agents of the people, not their masters.”

I hope what is going on at the White House and on Wall Street doesn’t dampen Mr. Clevelands birthday celebration … as a great American leader he deserves better.

Return to LeadersEdge360 Home Page


Leave a Reply

