Labor Day Quotes For Engagement

20075690_thb I love quotes because they make you think … they can also inspire you to act.

So, in the spirit of Labor Day I’d like to share with you one of my favorites:

Confucius says “Choose a job you love, and you will never have to work a day in your life.”

How true.

According to a recent study by the Gallup Organization, 70% of U.S workers are not engaged with their work … meaning they do not love their jobs … and it shows. They provide poor service, their productivity is low, their performance numbers are low, they’re unhappy, their attitude isn’t good … it goes on.

Everybody deserves the opportunity to love their job and as leaders we are in a position to make that happen.

Think about this …

If I was working at a construction project hauling bricks in a wheel barrel all day long, I would probably not love my job. However, if I believed that I was an important part of the process to building a hospital where somebody’s life would be saved one day, then I’d like it a little more.

If I knew that if I did really good at my job, I’d have a future beyond hauling bricks, I’d even like it a little more.

If I was being rewarded in some way for going ‘above and beyond’ as I hauled bricks, I’d be almost at the point of loving hauling bricks all day long.

If you asked me, what would it take for me to love my job of hauling bricks all day long … I’d tell you and if you delivered then I’d likely begin to love my job.

My leadership tip this week is to ask you to implement any 1, or all 5 of the following recommendations.

1. Re-communicate the big picture to your organization.

2. Ensure every person on the team understands the importance of their role in the big picture.

3. Ensure every person on the team has a future or career path.

4. Ensure every single person has an incentive / reward for performing ‘above and beyond.’

5. Ask what improvements you could make that would improve their work environment or make their job better – then deliver.
By doing these things you will have made a positive contribution to employee engagement and to helping someone love their job.

Quotes make you think … click here for more inspirational Labor Day quotes.

Register to receive Randy Goruk’s Leadership Tip of the Week directly here

For more leadership development tips, join Randy at https://www.facebook.com/LeadersEdge360

Leave a Reply

