Listen For The Unlucky

34879374_thbHow are you feeling these days ?

Lucky or unlucky?

Rodney Dangerfield gets credit for this quote about luck: ‘My luck is so bad that if I bought a cemetery, people would stop dying’.

I’m really not sure who gets credit for the following quote, but I’ll give it to my old boss because I heard it from him first: ‘The harder I work , the luckier I get’.
I believe in luck and I believe in making my own luck.

I also believe in the combination of working smart … and in working hard … and having fun in the process.

To me, working smart means thinking and planning on how to get the desired result. Whereas, working hard means putting in the time and effort to achieve the desired result.

You need both to make your own luck.

I listened to someone the other day who was down on their luck. They sounded like the Rodney Dangerfield quote above … but unfortunately I was not in a position to help them.

My leadership tip for you this week is listen for the ‘unlucky’… find them and help them.

Listen to them, teach them, boost their spirits, offer them some advice / guidance, find something they can look forward to. Mentor them on the relationship between luck and working hard / smart.

Listen for the unlucky … but be careful … as you could change someone’s life – which is exactly what exceptional leaders do.

Register to receive Randy Goruk’s Leadership Tip of the Week directly here

For more leadership development tips, join Randy at https://www.facebook.com/LeadersEdge360

Leave a Reply

