Work-Life Balance Is Critical

untitledIf you’ve ever been to one of my leadership presentations, you probably heard me talk about the importance of work-life balance for leaders.

If you haven’t, but are interested in a copy of my work-life balance test, feel free to email me with ‘work -life balance’ in the subject line and I’ll be happy to send it to you.

I typically talk about the importance of a leader achieving a reasonable work-life balance for them so they are able to maintain a high level of personal productivity … we aren’t as productive at work as we need to be if we’re experiencing stress at home – and vice versa.

I also talk about the importance of the leader paying attention to the work-life balance of those that report to them for the same reason … and because leaders care !

When I think about it, I never bring up the impact exercise has on work-life balance … mainly because I’ve never thought about it until I read an interesting and helpful article on the topic – you can read it here.

My leadership tip for you this week is to read this article and share it with others. Begin to incorporate a regular amount of exercise in your weekly routine to extract the work-life balance benefits reported.

Additionally, follow these 5 – steps to work-life balance … it is my personal proven formula.

1. Decide what is good work-life balance for you – everyone is different.

2. Plan – maintain a calendar with both business and personal activities.

3. Communicate – make sure the family knows what’s going on at work and work knows what’s going on at home.

4. Adjust – make the necessary adjustments to achieve the desired balance (the hardest part).

5. Communicate some more.

Let me know if you need a little coaching to achieve your desired results.

I sincerely hope you achieve the quality of work-life balance that works for you … and that you are able to inspire those around you to achieve theirs.

Register to receive Randy Goruk’s Leadership Tip of the Week directly here

For more leadership development tips, join Randy at https://www.facebook.com/LeadersEdge360

Leave a Reply

